Connect with us


For the past 16 years, Slant Magazine has brought you uncompromising, candid takes on film, music, TV, games, home video, and more. You may not always agree with us, but we hope we’ve been able to spark a conversation.

Slant is reaching more readers than ever before, but advertising revenue across the Internet is falling fast, hitting independently owned and operated publications like ours the hardest. We’ve watched many of our fellow media sites fall by the way side in recent years, but we’re determined to stick around.

Which is why Slant needs your help.

We’ve never asked our readers for financial support before, and we’re committed to keeping our content free and accessible—meaning no paywalls or subscription fees. If you like what we do, however, please consider making a contribution. One-hundred percent of the funds we collect will be used to maintain and improve the magazine, as well as pay our contributors so that we can keep bringing you reviews of the latest releases, TV recaps, exclusive interviews, festival dispatches, lists, news, and more.

You can also donate to us via Patreon by clicking here.

If you’re unable to contribute, there are other ways you can help Slant that won’t cost you a penny: Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and our other social media channels, and share articles you like with your friends. Most importantly, if you use an ad-blocker, please turn it off.

Donors: Mallory Adamczyk, Stephen Altamirano, Joseph Arsenault, Bill Arceneaux, Ryan Aston, Martin Augood, Cristian Araya Badilla, Jeff Bandy, Devin Bingham, Tobias Carroll, Arden Castillo, Andrew Chan, Chris Clayman, Andrew Cox, Elaine Cooper, Kyle Crawford, Brandi Cryer, Georg Csarmann, Duncan Derry, Rachel Dixon, Bilge Ebiri, Paul Etheredge, Charles Fischer, Brian Formo, Alexandra Guillen, Geoffrey Hall, Danielle Halley, Jonathan Hammersley, Dustin Haviv, Manuela Helbig, Odie Henderson, Jacob Hovind, Annastacia Hubbard, Rahul Jain, Niall Johnson-Byrne, Sarahjane Johnston, Peter Keil, Jonathan Kiefer, Michael Koresky, Stephanie Krenrich, Katherine Krueger, Adam Kuntavanish, Joris van Laarhoven, Sue Larson, Fedor Ligthart, Erik Lund, Charles Lyons-Burt, Marina Malazoniya, Pia Manna, Eugene McCrann, Nell Minow, Ian Mossner, Bharat Nayak, Shashwat Nayak, Adam Nayman, Martha Orton, Gil Ozeri, Yazdi K. Pithavala, Noah Rainone, Sam Reed, Jonathan Rhodes, Heather Robertson, Dennis Rowland, Danilo Salvo, Shums, Allen Skurow, Freda Snow, Steven Spencer, Cornelia Stach, John Stack, Thomas Stehle, Ryan St. Louis, Ryan Swen, Rumsey Taylor, Guillermo del Toro, Myrna Uhlich, Leonora Unser-Schutz, Joseph Vosti, David Wiley, Tina Wilkins, Susan Wood, Toby Ximenez, Nicholas Zeltzer.



Slant is reaching more readers than ever, but as online advertising continues to evolve, independently operated publications like ours have struggled to adapt. We're committed to keeping our content free and accessible—meaning no paywalls or subscription fees—so if you like what we do, please consider becoming a Slant patron:


You can also make a donation via PayPal.